Megan's Cooking Log

cooking through my 30 linear feet of cookbooks

Monkey Bread

leave a comment »

My mother bought me a dedicated monkey bread pan a few years ago, and I’m always torn between using it more often, and reserving it just for Christmas.  So far, we only bring it out every Christmas for our annual junk food breakfast, which also includes mini marshmallow filled ambrosia salad.

I’ve tried a few different recipes for monkey bread recipes over the years, and settled on the Cooks Illustrated one as being my ideal.  The one problem is that every year, this year included, we eat it as a dessert for breakfast, because the cooking time is about twice as long as the recipe claims.  I don’t know if that’s because of the thick stoneware pot that spends the night in the refrigerator, or if the recipe is just a bit wonky (my guess is on the first, though I do try to let it sit out for an our or two before putting it in the oven).  One of these years I’ll remember that.

Monkey Bread, from the February 2005 issue of Cook’s Illustrated.

Written by Megan

December 25, 2010 at 10:18 am

Leave a comment